Skill Work & The End of the Open

Happy Hump Day! Where does the time go? I could ask Daylight Savings Time, since that happened not that long ago and I am one of about 16 people who appreciates it. That extra hour means I actually get to leave work and have not only daylight, but sunshine. Hooray!

The last week of the Open is here! It’s insane how quickly these five weeks have flown by, and overall I’ve been very happy with how I’ve done. In my region (Northern California) in the scaled division, I am in 24th place. Not bad out of 865 people! This last workout, 16.4, was as follows:

13 minute AMRAP:
-55 deadlifts (95 lbs for women)
-55 wall balls (only 10 lb ball)
– 55 calories on the rower
– 55 hand release push ups

This one in particular actually favored taller athletes, which most of them don’t. I can do wall balls and row all day, and the deadlift was a very light weight (about 40% of my max). The only movement I struggled with were the push ups, and I got through 45 of them.

As much as I love the Open, my strategy going into it was to drastically decrease the volume/amount of training I was doing. I’ve done this, and while it was definitely a good idea, I am really excited to getting back to my normal schedule. Typically I workout Monday through Saturday, double double days on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and occasional Fridays. My second workout is typically skill-based, and I just recently started a gymnastics program called Elements, programmed by Dusty Hyland. It’s available for $10 over on Train Heroic (a great app/website that allows your to browse tons of programming options for various sports). My goal is to get a muscle up by this year, and hopefully some hand stand push ups.

So, my training has been relatively light, but I don’t feel like I’ve lost any strength or my engine at all. I wanted to share a couple videos: the first being some skill work from this past Saturday afternoon. My boyfriend and I did a 10 minute EMOM of 3 snatch high pulls; I started off at 73 lbs., which is about 83% if my 1rm. That felt pretty light, so I moved up to using 83#, which is 95% of my max.

This one is from this morning, from the Barbell Bikini program I’ve been doing since January. I was to establish a max out 1 power clean, 3 push press and 1 jerk. I worked my way up to 100 lbs, which is 7 lbs more than I got last time I did this complex. Hooray!

Also, definitely chin-checked myself with the barbell on the weight I did before this one. Shhhh.

I’m excited to see what 16.5 is, although I have a terrible feeling it will involve thrusters. Thrusters are not my favorite (they’re actually my least favorite movement) because being tall is awful for those…I just can’t get efficient at them. But it is what it is, and it means I’ll just have to work that much harder.

I hope you’re all having a great week! Anything fun or interesting you’d care to share?

 

 

Leave a Reply

