Super Bowl Weekend

…And just like that, the weekend is over. As an adult I am realizing how quickly time flies, and it seems to speed up at a rate of about three times as quickly when it involves having time off from work.

How was your Super Bowl weekend? Despite the fact that it was held in my area, I had nothing to do with it other than enjoying how quiet the roads were mid afternoon. Fun fact: while they were advertising it as being in San Francisco, the actual game was held in Santa Clara, which is closer to San Jose, which is approximately 45 miles south of downtown San Francisco. So, the joke’s on you tourists…you didn’t actually go to San Francisco for the Super Bowl, you went to Santa Clara. Doesn’t quite have the same ring to it, I know.

Other than being a grinch about football, my weekend was pretty fantastic. It was absolutely beautiful both days here in Northern California…Sunday was in the 70s! Being as I work 10 AM to 6 PM during the week and get virtually no time outside, it was so nice to have a couple days that were sunny and warm after all the cold and rain we’ve been having (which we desperately need). It does crush my spirit and make me feel slightly dead inside during the week because I have to sit inside all day, so if I can grab some time outdoors on the weekends, it makes me not hate everything quite so much.

We did a great WOD on Saturday morning – hero WOD “Kyle”:

3 Rounds For Time of:

40 American Kettle Bell Swings (36kg for men/24kg for women)
40 Box Jumps
40 Thrusters (65# for men/45 # for women)
40 Elevated Push Ups Off Box (scale down to normal push ups if need be)

We did this in teams of two; my partner and I finished around 23 minutes. Those kettle bell swings were rough, and the push ups fried your arms due to them being elevated.

Afterwards, I did my Barbell Bikini programming – it was more pause squats and some pistol work. Now, one of my main goals when I started CrossFit two years ago was to be able to do a pistol squat. It’s something that I admittedly don’t work on enough, but after going through a lot of progressions and modifications that day, I am incredibly happy to report that I was able to get 3 pistols on my right leg. My left leg is my weaker side, and paired with a tight hip, I didn’t have enough power to stand up. But, I am SO happy to finally be able to do these! They’re definitely a work in progress, but this is a goal that has been two years in the making.

My foot just barely grazed the floor, but I can assure you it provided zero assistance coming up.

Sunday, my wonderful boyfriend made an amazing breakfast – eggs, bacon, avocado. Of course, since it was egg based, you gotta top that off with some Tapatio.

IMG_6727

SO GOOD. Can’t go wrong with that meal! Also, not pictured, but we made bulletproof coffee and it was deeeeelicious.

Last share for today: nothing too crazy, but here’s a snippet of the snatch work I was doing this morning. It is sped up a little bit because I put it on Instagram, which has a 15 second limit.

How was your weekend? Did you watch that football game that everyone goes bananas over?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

