Favorites & a Fail

Howdy! How’s your week going, friends?

Mine is plugging along. I wanted to share a couple of things I’ve been enjoying lately, just for the sake of sharing. Personally, I love reading favorites posts and watching favorites videos online, although it does give me the urge to shop online, and I’m genuinely starting to wonder if I have a problem.

First favorite! New weightlifting shoes! I received my Nike Romaleos late last week and I couldn’t wait to try them out. I’ve had the Inov8 Fast Lifts fro the last year and a half or so, and while they were a good starter shoe and definitely made a difference, mine were starting to show their wear, and I decided it was time to invest in some big girl shoes.

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 2.26.21 PM

Plus, they were on sale at Rogue. Score! They are pricey, but worth absolutely every penny. I feel so much more stable in all of my lifts, and I also like that they give you two different insoles – now I actually feel as though I can balance through my mid foot, instead of pulling my big toes up in an effort to stay on my heels. Plus, they look super cool and I got them in an obnoxiously bright blue color. Note: these are men’s shoes, and if you’re a lady you should size down 1.5 sizes from your normal shoe size. I am typically a size 10 in women’s and bought a men’s 8.5; I wouldn’t want them any larger or smaller. My only complaint is the velcro straps are a little long and hang down farther than I’d like, but that’s such a minuscule complaint that it’s almost not even worth mentioning.

So, you have new shoes that feel great, and you haven’t PR’ed in awhile. What do you do on a Monday? Your try to PR your snatch, obviously. Warming up, I felt good – the shoes helped a lot, although I do want to mention that while no pair of shoes are magically going to turn you into an amazing weightlifter and increase all your lifts by 50 lbs., they definitely do help by giving you that extra help in mobility and stability. They won’t create PRs, but they will help to put you in the correct balance and position to improve your technique.

My previous snatch PR was 85 lbs (my saddest lift) which I did back some time in September. I hit 88 lbs on Monday which felt easy, at which point my boyfrjend told me I should go big and try for 95. I failed numerous times with that, decided it was too heavy, and dropped down to 90. Still couldn’t get that, and in the spirit of being authentic, here is me dropping a barbell on my head.

The hardest (and most frustrating) thing about the snatch is that it’s so technical rather than strength related. I can jerk 125 lbs, but that’s not nearly as technical. My height puts me at an enormous disadvantage, but these are not excuses – it just means I am going to have to work a little harder than someone who is 5’4″. But hey, I still PRed by 3 lbs, bringing my snatch to 88 lbs. While it’s not great compared to a lot of people, considering I couldn’t overhead squat the bar 2 years ago, I’m pretty proud of what I’m now able to do.

Second favorite –RX Bars! Holy toledo, these things are SO GOOD. There’s no processed garbage in them, they’re Paleo friendly, and absolutely delicious. I’ve tried four different flavors so far – peanut butter, pumpkin spice, chocolate & sea salt and chocolate coconut. I think the chocolate coconut or peanut butter is my favorite, but I wouldn’t turn any of them down.

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 2.26.12 PM

Those are the ingredients. Nothing else, just that. Drool.

My last favorites are more beauty/super girly related.  First is the Primal Pit Paste Peppermint Vanilla Sugar Scrub.

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 2.50.14 PM

I’ve talked a bit about Primal Pit Paste* (PPP for short) products in the past, particularly their deodorant, but this is absolutely my favorite body scrub. It smells so nice – not overwhelmingly minty, and not too much vanilla making it overly sweet. It does a fantastic job exfoliating and leaves your skin so soft – I typically don’t even put lotion on afterwards because it’s so moisturizing. It’s also 100% natural, organic, paleo, gluten-free, etc.

My other beauty related favorite is the Shea Moisture Argan Oil & Raw Shea body oil. This oil is multipurpose, meaning you can use it as a lotion replacement (I usually do this), in a bath or as a massage oil. It smells amazing – they list the scents as “frankincense and myrrh”, which mean absolutely nothing to me. But, it does smell super good – it’s on the sweeter side (think caramel and vanilla, but not so sugary – a bit more grown up).

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 4.54.37 PM

This stuff is awesome in the winter when it’s really dry out, and is totally affordable, especially considering it’s organic and sustainable. I also really like the company’s mission and values as a whole, so I would encourage you to check out their story if you have a moment.

What are some of your favorite products/services/foods right now? I’d love to check them out!

 

*This link is a referral link that would in some way compensate me for any purchases made through it. All products from Primal pit Paste have been purchased by me, with my own money. I truly do love the company and refer people all the time, but please don’t feel obligated to purchase through my referral link.

Leave a Reply

