Recovery Is A (Slow) Process

Happy Martin Luther King Day! I’m fortunate to have the day off of work, and I totally forget that it was a three day weekend until HR sent out an email on Friday reminding us there was no work today – talk about an awesome surprise.

I’m sitting at the gym typing this, and I wanted to talk about recovery. As I’m sure you know, recovery is a crucial part to getting stronger and fitter – probably just as important as actually putting in work at the gym. If you never let something rest, you are not letting it heal, and just as you need to make sure you get enough sleep at night to recharge, you need to let your body recharge in between workouts.

As I mentioned in a recent post, I got really sick at the beginning of January. I contracted  a really bad flu strain which resulted in me missing a week of work, and two weeks later I’m still not feeling 100%. I still have a cough with some junk in my lungs, I’m having some serious (lack of) appetite issues and stomach problems…I’m kind of a mess. It’s honestly extremely frustrating, because I feel like I keep getting hit with a myriad of problems that I can’t seem to shake. I have to tell myself that my body has been through a lot and that I need to be patient and take it slowly, day by day, but that’s really hard because I feel like I have to make up for lost time. It’s tough, but I’ll do what I can each day. One of my goals has been to keep upping my green intake, and I’ve been trying to drink more green juices to make sure I’m getting my micronutrients as well as my macronutrients. Some days are better than others, because as I mentioned I don’t really have much of an appetite, and the days that I do feel good enough to eat a decent amount, my stomach seems to think I’m trying to poison it. I can’t win!

I did have a pretty good day this past Saturday. I got in some heavy deadlifts – 5 at 70%, 3 at 80%, 1 @ 90% (this one went slooooooow) and then 5 @ 70% as a burnout set. After that I worked on some technique stuff, including handstand work, some rope climbs, and even started working on butterfly pull ups. Rope climbs are a lot more fun than I thought they would be, and I feel like it’s something where my height will actually be an advantage (I’m 5’11.5″ if I’ve never mentioned that before). They’re tough, and I’m certainly not efficient at them, but the nice part is the more you do something the easier it gets.

Today’s agenda is some light strength and conditioning – I know I need to wait until my body is back at 100%, but until then I’ll play it by ear. I hope you had a great weekend, and if you’re fortunate enough to have today off, I hope you’re enjoying the extra day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

