New Year Goals

Where did 2015 go?! Apparently the new year is right around the corner, so I guess that means I need to start setting some goals.

Before we get to the goal setting, I wanted to share some updates in my life, although when I say “my life” I am pretty much entirely referring to my gym life…which is kind of my only life. I’m not mad about it.

First off – I hit a couple of PR’s last week which I’m really excited about.

First was my deadlift PR. My old PR was 213, and I hadn’t tested that since April. The video below was 225, and it felt easy, so I threw on another 10 lbs and went for 235, which I got (yay!) but sadly didn’t film (I swear it happened though). Not bad for a 7AM class!

Last Wednesday, I also hit a new clean PR. My old PR was 138, so I went for 143 and it felt easy. The front squat was the tough part, but I also need to start warming up longer. I feel like if I had been warmer in the squat position, I could have gone for more – which is an awesome feeling.

Other than that, I am super excited to share that I’m going to start coaching at my gym starting in January! They’re adding an 8AM women’s only class on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and I’ll be stepping in to help spread the strength and awesomeness that CrossFit brings. Coaching has been a goal of mine for awhile now as I’ve totally fallen in love with the sport, and I am so excited to hone my skills and help other people achieve things they never thought they could. I realize how corny that sounds, but CrossFit has impacted my life in so many positive ways, I can’t imagine not doing it…I really hope I can encourage other people to step out of their comfort zone, push themselves and achieve things they never thought they would be able to do.

As far as goals go for 2016, I have a few that I’d like to share, as I think sharing them can help with accountability.

  1. Be able to get 5 strict pull ups in a row
  2. Pistol squats
  3. Handstand push ups (already begun working on this)
  4. 200 lb back squat
  5. 100 lb squat

I feel like 5 goals is pretty solid, and is totally doable. I also feel like I’m at a point in my fitness where all of these are achievable, provided I put in the work and take care of myself. I also really want to focus on my nutrition and improving my diet; it’s normally pretty good, but I would love to take it from “pretty good” to “great”, as I definitely can tell an enormous difference in my performance when I’m eating really well.

I would love to hear your goals for the new year! If you feel comfortable sharing, let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

