Bull Riding & Six Months Later

One of the best feelings in the world is going into work on a Friday before a 3-day weekend. However, when you don’t actually have work on Friday, and you only are working Tuesday – Thursday, that feeling of pure elation is a little stolen from you…but I won’t complain about it too much. It’s Labor Day weekend, and for those of you stuck in an office, TODAY IS YOUR DAY! Happy Friday, and happy 3-day weekend.

Yesterday marked six months of me getting laid off from my job in tech. Six months is a long time, and I’ll admit it put me into a bit of a panic because I’m still somewhat at a loss of what I need to be doing to get where I want to go. Looking back on my time at my old job, I learned a lot but I was always pretty unhappy, especially towards the end; I wasn’t being challenged, I was frustrated, bored, and unenthused about the industry I was working in. When I got laid off, it came within 4 weeks of ending a serious relationship, moving back in with my mom, and totaling my car; the timing on it wasn’t great, but if I have to take anything away from it, it definitely was the catapult I needed to realize that the fitness industry is where I want to be.

So what have I done for the last six months? I’ve worked out, a lot…more than I ever have in my entire life, and I have enjoyed every second of it. I wasn’t ever an athlete growing up and sort of gave up on the idea that I would ever do anything athletic other than ride horses; Crossfit changed my perspective drastically on what I am capable of achieving, and that I am actually fairly athletic in the traditional sense. I know it’s pretty unrealistic for most people to workout and train the amount that I have been able to, and I recognize that my time off is something that probably won’t happen again in my life for a very, very long time, so I’ve really been trying to enjoy it and not worry too much. Most importantly, I’ve stayed busy and started to work towards some goals of mine that I wouldn’t have been able to work on had I still been working 50 hours a week.

Although these last six months have been hard financially, I think I have realized where I want to be in regards to a career, and that is in the fitness industry. Doing what exactly I’m not sure – I love teaching and helping people, but I recognize I still have a lot to learn before I go on to coach others. If not coaching, I would love to get involved with a fitness/lifestyle company doing some backend work – I live for details, processes and all things communication related.

I heard a quote the other day that really resonate with me: “Trust the process, and the results will come.”  Being unemployed has really made me question a lot of my own personal worth, if I can be honest, because like I mentioned it came during a really tumultuous time in my life when everything else was falling apart. I really do believe that if you can just keep moving forward and doing whatever you can to make things happen (the process), no matter how scary or hopeless it seems, things will work out and you will end up where you’re supposed to. Crossfit has given me a place to be my most authentic, genuine self, and to really develop and foster my love of fitness and achieving health – if I was still working at my old job, I know that I wouldn’t be able to dedicate the amount of time to the sport and the community as I have been able to do, and I know I would still be miserable. I am much happier now that I’m not stuck in the tech world, but I do miss feeling like I am contributing to something, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss having a regular paycheck that actually allows me to support myself. Currently I’m working part-time at the same job I had in college, which is a small business that sells horseback riding gear. It’s fine for now, but I can’t help but feel like I need to be doing something that challenges me more. If you have any ideas…I’m all ears 🙂

That was a lot of words, and I know people don’t particularly love lots of words. So, here is a video of me from last night riding the mechanical bull.

Some of us from the barn went out to celebrate our friend’s birthday…there was line dancing too (poorly on my part) but there is (luckily) no video proof of that.

Yesterday was also a much needed rest day, although apparently mechanical bull riding is tougher on one’s thighs and lats than anticipated. Does line dancing and mechanical bull riding count as an active rest day? Good enough for me.

Do you have any plans for the long weekend? Also, I really need protein powder recommendations…if you have any of those, throw ’em my way!

Leave a Reply

