The CrossFit Games Are Coming!

This month has pretty a great month for traveling. I spent 8 days in beautiful Wyoming, and now I’m going down to the less than beautiful Carson, CA for 6 days to watch the Reebok CrossFit Games. I know that everyone is supposed to swoon over southern California’s supposed beauty, but…no. Sorry. Too much traffic, tons of smog and too many people. But they do have beaches that are actually warm, so…I guess I can kind of see the appeal.

Being a spectator at the Games is an interesting experience. It’s a ton of fun, and the entire weekend is full of ridiculous eye candy, as everyone who comes to watch does CrossFit. However, it’s also a great way to warp your perception on reality because you actually become accustomed to everyone you see being in great shape. I can’t decide if this is good or bad, but it’s certainly noticeable when you leave the venue. And yes, many of us aim to get in shape to be a spectator at the Games. It’s a thing. Kind of like how hordes of crazy women work their asses off purely for the goal of “looking good in a bikini for vacation” for a week, except people who do CrossFit just aim to be hot year-round. But come July 1st, everyone steps it up in the gym and works even harder…or they just say f*ck it and get a spray tan. Or you do what my friend Alyssa and I did, and do both.

Speaking of spray tans, I’m a fan. I’ve gotten maybe 3 my entire life, but they do make a difference and can look really nice if you don’t go crazy and get 5 coats like a body builder. I’m extremely fair, so sitting out in the sun is not an option. I don’t tan, I just turn various shades of red. Also, if you’re in the Palo Alto area in California, I highly recommend Samba Glow in Menlo Park. The entire experience was fun and comfortable, and now I look super tan, which equates to looking approximately 32% supermodel. SLOWLY BUT SURELY, PEOPLE.

I’ll be driving down on Wednesday morning. The drive isn’t too bad, clocking in at about 6 hours 24 minutes, or 384 miles for those of you who measure things that way. Fingers crossed that nothing horrible happens on the way down…I have two audiobooks downloaded and ready to go, so entertainment should be taken care of. I’m not sure if I’ll be bringing my laptop with me since it’s kind of a pain in the ass to lug around, and I’d rather hang out with friends and eat with my free time, but we’ll see what happens. I am technically a milennial, and we all know how impossible it is for us to do anything without a minimum of two devices at all times.

Currently, it’s hot as balls. I’m trying to make sure I drink enough water, but this is proving to be quite a challenge. If you have any advice or ideas on drinking more water, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

