Wyoming, Part 1.

What a week it’s been so far! Apologies for the hiatus (again, I’m terrible, I know), but I’ve been on vacation in Jackson, WY since Sunday the 5th. It’s been hard to tear myself away from the incredible scenery (tons of photos below) and sit down in front of my computer to write something. However, it’s currently pouring rain – which is actually a nice reprieve from the horrific drought we’re enduring in California. I figured a rainy Friday wasn’t a terrible time to sit down and get something written.

When I told people I was going on vacation to Wyoming, many of them just gave me a puzzled look. Why on earth would you go to Wyoming? 

Um, because this, for starters:

Cabin on the meadow

In other words…it is insanely, ridiculously beautiful, and if you’re an active or outdoorsy person, this is basically a wet dream (sorry) come true.

I’ve given a bit of background on me, but I think one of the main reasons I started this blog was so I could chronicle my journey with CrossFit. One of the many awesome aspects of CrossFit is that there are boxes (what we call our gyms, as many of them are in a warehouse with minimal equipment) all over the world, and it’s really easy to drop in to do a class, provided you’re relatively familiar with the fundamental movements and formats of a class. I work out about 5-6 days a week at home, so naturally the thought of not working out for a week terrified me and I immediately went online to find a box in the area.

Enter Rendezvous CrossFit. I shot Meg, the owner, an email asking if it was cool if I came to drop in. She was quick to reply with the information I needed, and I let her know I would attend both the Wednesday and Friday class at 9AM. I am someone who gets really anxious about stupid things, so while I was looking forward to working out in a new place, I was also a little nervous. I came in on Wednesday and was met with nothing but positivity and enthusiasm; Meg was super welcoming, as were the other people in the class. I really like that they choose to keep their classes to 5 people, as you get great attention, coaching, and it was nice to get to know some of the regulars.

I will say this…altitude makes a HUGE difference. Holy cow. I’m from California where we’re at sea level, and I’m in very good shape. Put me at 6,300 feet in Jackson, and I’m still in pretty good shape, but man oh man – I noticed the difference right away. I was fatigued quicker than normal and definitely didn’t feel as strong, but I knew that it would be a challenge going into it and as Meg put it, “you’re on vacation!” Overall, I highly recommend Rendezvous CrossFit to anyone in the Jackson area – great people who put me at ease, and great coaching!

After my workout on Wednesday, I got a massage from the wonderful Stevie Duren at Bliss Bodywork in Jackson. It was a perfect compliment to a tough workout, and I’ve really needed someone to work on some nasty knots I’ve got going on. Stevie is one of my new favorite people – we immediately connected. She has amazing energy and I felt so comfortable upon meeting her. She is a true gem and fantastic at what she does; I highly recommend her for any energy or body work if you’re in Jackson!

Other than that, my days have consisted almost entirely of driving around and taking pictures. My mom and I came up here together, but she has friends up here with whom she goes off to paint with each day. I am someone who really enjoys being on my own, and this trip has been a nice reminder that it’s actually really nice to go off on my own and explore. It has also gotten me out of my comfort zone a bit, which is something I struggle with a lot due to my anxiety.

WARNING: Total photo dump ahead, some in chronological order, some not.

Gorgeous mountains

2015-07-05 18.48.31-3

Amazing light

Plains of Wyoming

Our first evening here, and we were welcomed by this amazing scenery and lighting. Holy crap!

2015-07-06 15.58.01

Awesome juice place

Watermelon juice!

Awesome juice place in Jackson. Also, pure watermelon juice is amazingly yummy.

Jenny Lake, South End

Me being ridiculous at Jenny Lake

Jenny Lake, South End

Jenny Lake, North End

Jenny Lake in the Grand Teton National Park.

Tetons!

Me at Grand Teton Natinal Park

Sunset from Wednesday, 7/8

Sunset by Gros Ventre

11693966_10153376754110600_655781343628300042_n

Photos from Mormon Row. This place has incredible photo ops and ridiculous views…I highly recommend it!Mormon Row

Rain clouds

Meadow by Mormon Row

Mormon Row

Buffalo

Mormon Row

Horses at the Teton Village:

Horses!

More view from inside Teton National Park:

Mountains from Grand Teton National Park

Grand Teton National Park

And, to close out this post…one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen.

AMAZING sunset

]Wildlife count: 2 moose, 4 bison, and 2 bears. TWO BEARS! Being “bear aware” is a huge thing up here, as they are fairly common, so I have to be super careful when I’m out by myself, which is kind of a bummer because I can’t really go on any hikes. Still having a great time though!

I have more photos to go through, and I still have 3 more days. While putting up all these photos, I came to the sad realization that my laptop is not the spritely young thing that it once was, so I may have to do some major house cleaning in order to make sure everything gets uploaded. However, in case you JUST CAN’T POSSIBLY WAIT, you can check out my Instagram account, where I’ve been posting like crazy.

Stay tuned for part 2!

Places mentioned:

Rendezvous CrossFit
Bliss Bodywork by Stevie Duren
Mormon Row Historic District
Grand Teton National Park
Jenny Lake (part of Grand Teton NP)

Leave a Reply

