Oh goodness.

It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? I am bad at the Internet apparently, and even worse at the blogosphere.

What’s been up since April? A lot and nothing, at the same time…my mom and I moved, which was a somewhat chaotic, frenzied disaster, but hey, it makes for a good story now. I don’t recommend delegating only 6 days to pack up an entire house (and garage) and move after you’ve been there for 11 years…not smart. In the end, all is well and we made it out alive, but procrastinators never prosper…or DO they?!

I’ve also made some pretty good headway on the fitness front. I’ve been able to hit a number of PRs recently which I’m feeling pretty good about, mainly because I’ve been putting in a lot of time at the gym and really seeing results for the first time in my life. In a week I hit a 170 lb back squat, a 125 lb power clean, a 155 lb front squat and an 83 lb power snatch. WHAT! I know those numbers aren’t the highest compared to a lot of people, but I’m pretty pumped on it. This past week I was also able to get two strict pull ups, which was a HUGE deal for me – one of my goals when I started Crossfit was to be able to do one strict pull up, and it seemed damn near impossible for the longest time. But, apparently when you put in the work and the time, good things happen – who knew?!

I’m super stoked for July, as I’ll actually get to leave not only the Bay Area but California for the first time in a LONG time. I’m still unemployed so while I have plenty of time on my hands, I don’t have the funds to support my overwhelming desire to GTFO of town for awhile. Luckily, my mom is amazing and is taking me to Wyoming with her for a week! I visited with her in September and cannot wait to go back and spend more time there – we’ll be visiting Jackson, and I absolutely loved the vibe of the town last time I went. It’s beautiful, the people are kind, and I ate some of the best food I’ve ever had. I’ve even emailed a Crossfit gym to see if I can drop in a couple times while I’m there to workout.

After Wyoming, I’ll be home for a week before attending the Crossfit Games with my gym. I had a blast last year and came back so inspired after watching all the athletes, and definitely came back ready to work hard. The Games are in southern California, and I’ll be driving down on the 22nd and enjoying a couple days at the house we’re all renting which is apparently across the street from the beach. I’m not a huge beach person (I’ll take the mountains over the beach) but I’m still looking forward to having a break from where I live and hanging out with some good people.

Below are some photos, and possibly a video (if I can technology). My gym recently launched a boot camp to try and get more people into Crossfit, and I’m helping them out with that. I love my gym and the people there, and I want to help them out as much as I can; when I am actually excited about something, apparently I look really goofy in pictures as I cannot contain my excitement (I’m on the right).

Jillian & I

Jillian & I getting ready for World’s Best Bootcamp SIlicon Valley

jill me 2

Setting up to snatch.

Setting up to snatch.

Edit: clearly I can technology, as there’s a video up there. Hooray.

That’s it for now. I’m going to try harder to get back into blogging on a regular basis, and maybe even try that whole vlogging situation. That might be tougher as I don’t really love being on camera, but I LOVE watching other people’s vlogs. Plus, I laugh at a lot of my own jokes, so maybe other people will too?

Leave a Reply

