Favorite Natural Beauty Products

I’m pretty good about what I put into my body (food wise), and over the last year I’ve tried to move more toward more natural body/beauty products. Since your skin is the biggest organ on your body and incredibly absorbent, I’m making every effort I can to put the best natural products on my body as well as in it.

With some trial & error, I’ve found some really awesome natural products that truly work. I feel like people automatically assume that products labeled “natural” means they don’t work as well, and those who use products made with natural ingredients are labeled as hippies (often of the “stinky hippie” variety). I would like to state there’s no shame in being a hippie, and I would also like to state that I do not smell – in fact, people typically tell me how great I smell, which says something.

Primal Products

Hands down, Primal Products is my favorite natural brand. They are now expanding their product line which is fantastic, but their original product was deodorant, or “pit paste”, as they called it..

A previous coworker first told me about a natural deodorant called Primal Pit Paste. He went on and on about how great it was, and eventually convinced me to try it. THIS STUFF IS AMAZING – I do not use regular deodorant anymore. This stuff is completely natural and comes in a bunch of different scents (my favorite is the Thyme & Lemongrass). It comes in either a paste variety or in a stick; I’ve used both and found I actually prefer the paste a bit more, as it spreads more evenly over your underarms. While it isn’t advertised as being an antiperspirant, it definitely helps cut back on sweat. I use this everyday and it carries over into my gym time in the afternoons/evenings, and I do not smell.

ppp

This stuff is amazing. AMAZING. It’s $8.95 and I find one 2 oz. jar lasts me about 3 months or so.

Primal Products also makes an amazing body scrub in a vanilla peppermint scent and it is to die for. I don’t even need to use lotion after I get out of the shower with this stuff, and the smell lingers all day. It’s a perfect balance between the peppermint and vanilla smells. My only complaint is that they don’t make it in bucket size.

They also make a lip balm that is wonderful, as your lips are still super soft after it wears off. They call it their Primal Pucker Paste, and once again, their vanilla peppermint scent is lovely. They also have an orange creamsicle flavor that is high on my list. Once again, all the ingredients are natural so feel free to lick this tasty paste off your lips (mmmm, paste).

puck paste

Alright, last one from Primal Products! They make an awesome lotion, or body whip, as they call it. A little goes a long way, it’s super moisturizing, smells delicious and leaves my skin glowing (that can actually be a thing). They recently changed the packaging from a jar of body whip (the texture is more mousse-like) to a body lotion bar, which I haven’t tried yet, but am fully confident will be just as awesome. Again, I love the thyme & lemongrass scent, but they make a bunch of ones to cater to your nose.

lotion

Currently, Primal Products are only sold online from their website, but it is worth buying online. They also have great, responsive customer service, and often offer some great coupons.

Shea Moisture Products

Shea Moisture products are a little more accessible, as they’re sold in CVS, Target and other drugstores. I’ve only used a few of their products thus far, but really am liking what they are doing for my hair and skin.

The first product of their’s that I purchased was the African Black Soap Body Wash. While I am not crazy about the smell (it isn’t bad, more that it just lacks any distinct smell), it works wonders for dry skin. It also doesn’t irritate my sensitive skin, so I can use it every day. The price tag is kind to your wallet at about $8 a bottle, so it’s very affordable.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 9.39.27 PM

My second favorite from this company is the Tahitian Noni & Monoi Smooth & Repair Nourishing Hair Masque. I have thick, wavy, dry, coarse hair and this is a wonderful conditioner for it. It decreases frizz and is really moisturizing, plus it has a nice light, fresh scent that lingers in your hair. Again, the price point is fantastic because you get a giant tub of this for only $11.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 9.45.02 PM

Yes To Carrots (and blueberries & tomatoes!)

When this company first started, I believe the original line was only products with ingredients from carrots, which sounds weird, but everything I’ve tried from this company I have really liked. I am all for investing in skin care and I believe that there are definitely products worth the money, but I also love a good bargain and if something works for me, I’m going to keep using it even if it doesn’t come with a fancy price tag. Below are two staples that I’ve used for about a year now, and will continue to purchase.

The Yes To Blueberries Eye Firming Treatment is my favorite eye cream. I’ve gone through at least 5 bottles of this and can definitely tell it’s working. Since I’m very diligent about sunscreen, I am fortunate to not have a ton of lines around my eyes, and I would like to keep it that way! This eye cream is moisturizing and works really well under makeup, and doesn’t irritate sensitive skin. It’s around $16 at the drugstore and worth every penny.

eyecream

My final favorite is the Yes To Tomatoes Daily Balancing Moisturizer. This is marketed towards acne prone or oily skin, as it contains lycopene. Lycopene (from tomatoes) has a very low pH in it, so it is very soothing. I have sensitive, acne prone skin and have really noticed my skin is much calmer and happier when I use this on a consistent basis. The only issues I can find with it is that it doesn’t have an SPF in it, so if you’re wearing it during the day, make sure to top it off with some sunscreen. However, I do use this at night over my serums and find that my face looks glowy, calm and blemish-free in the morning.

All of the above, with the exception of the Primal Products, can be found in Target/CVS/drugstores and are all under $20. If you have any recommendations for natural products, I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

