Sunday Eats

I would like to say that up until this very point in time, I have eaten very well today. That could change, as there are three (three!!!) kinds of ice cream sitting in the freezer right now. But, as of now, I’ve done well, and I wanted to share some easy, healthy options to make so you can appropriately stuff your face.

Since I got laid off at the beginning of the month, I knew I was committed 100% to being in the gym more and pushing myself, and the cool thing is that it’s totally been paying off. Not only have I improved both my double unders and my overhead squat tremendously, but I’m actually starting to see definition in places I haven’t before – I even worked out in shorts the other day. I NEVER DO THAT. I don’t think I’ve felt comfortable wearing shorts in public since I was about 11 years old.

Committed to the gym? Yes, absolutely. Committed the same amount or my diet? More or less, yes. To be perfectly honest, my diet is pretty darn healthy as it is. I also have a very sensitive stomach which forces me to be really careful about what I eat, so I’ve learned over the years what works with my body and what doesn’t. So overall, I’m doing pretty well, but I do know there are room for improvements.

ANYWAY! Here are some photos of what I ate today. Not to toot my own horn, but everything I ate today, I made myself. Booyah.

Breakfast:
– 2 pieces of turkey bacon
– strawberries, blueberries and bananas
– 1 slice of Dave’s Killer Bread (organic, whole-grain bread) with almond butter. This stuff is awesome – the Powerseed one is my favorite.
– Coffee with coconut oil (and a little half & half)

IMG_1888 (1)Fruit  IMG_1890 (1)

Lunch:

Breakfast actually kept me really full, so I wasn’t super hungry for lunch but knew I should get something in. I made a chicken apple sausage and some mixed veggies. Honestly the picture makes it look a little gross, because let’s be real – sausage doesn’t photograph well (or in a non-phallic manner). I did eat outside under a tree though, which was nice.

LunchTree

Snack:

I was in the mood for something sweet, and decided that a smoothie was in order. Below is the recipe, although if you wanted to add some honey/sweetener to this, that would be doing it a favor.

IMG_1909

Combine the following in a blender:
– 1/2 banana
– 5 to 7 strawberries
– 1 tablespoon almond butter
– 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
– about 1 cup almond milk (I didn’t measure, I just poured carelessly.)
– 3 ice cubes

Again, I think if I were to do this again I’d add some honey, or maybe coconut sugar.

YUM!

I still drank it though.

Dinner:

Ah, dinner. The time of the day where I’m probably the most ready to eat, and the least stoked to cook. I decided to try and recreate one of my favorite dishes at a restaurant nearby called LYFE Kitchen (they have locations in California, Colorado, Illinois, New York, Nevada and Texas – check them out!), the Quinoa Crunch Bowl. It has quinoa tabbouleh, fresh crunchy vegetables, avocado, arugula, edamame hummus, chipotle vinaigrette and Fireman’s hot sauce (made locally). I add grilled chicken on top, and it is absolutely as amazing as it sounds.

If I could eat at LYFE everyday, I would. If I could eat the crunch bowl everyday, I would. Nom.

Anyway, I tried to recreate this. I didn’t do terribly, but it still wasn’t even close to LYFE’s version, and for whatever reason I had it in my head that it would come out like that…my tastebuds and brain was expecting that taste! So, curses to me for my failed execution to the beloved quinoa crunch bowl. Nonetheless, I came up with a still tasty alternative will be made again.

Quinoa salad

Sweet potato, chicken breast, quinoa, avocado and greens. There was also some pretty old Cholula that I threw on after (hot sauce doesn’t go bad, right?) which gave it some zing. And yes, I ate it all. Well, not all the quinoa. In case you didn’t know, one cup of dried quinoa makes a shit ton of cooked quinoa. Seriously.

IMG_1923

I am definitely someone who feels the effects of eating well right away. When I eat consistently crappy (usually more than one day in a row), I feel it bad the next day, and it’s a good reminder as to why I don’t eat junk food all that often. I do believe in treating yourself once in awhile, and I don’t feel guilty when I have ice cream over the weekend.

Diet is something that a lot of people struggle with, because I think that we are addicted to processed food. I also don’t think people realize how terrible their bad eating habits are making them feel, because that’s all the know. I’ve been focusing on really eating well for about a year now, and I definitely do not crave junk as much. Every once in awhile I’ll want something naughty, and when I decide to treat myself, I make it count…Haagen Dasz ice cream, anyone?

With all of that being said…it’s ice cream time.

Leave a Reply

