Meat Balls Gone Wrong

I love to eat. Like, a lot. What I don’t love, however, is cooking. Baking I can get on board with, and while cooking is something I CAN do and am not half bad at it, I just don’t love cooking. Part of this is due to my limited knowledge and recipes – I can make healthy, pretty tasty meals, but I’m not very creative and will eat some variation of about three things for weeks on end.

A few weeks ago I visited my best friend in Chico. She made some seriously delicious turkey meatballs, spaghetti squash and veggies. I love me some meatballs, but I’ve never actually made them. So, naturally the best idea is for me to throw a bunch of food together and see what happens, when truly I have only the foggiest idea of what I may or may not be doing right.

Fun fact: I don’t really like following recipes/instructions. Give me a new gadget and I’ll try to figure out how it works by fiddling around with it, and only consult the manual when I’m failing miserably. Same goes for recipes – if it’s something I’ve never made, I might look at some recipes to get a general sense of what goes into it. But sometimes I do this and then ignore the general guidelines anyway, like tonight.

My intention = meatballs. My outcome = not meatballs.

Instead, I wound up with something that I’ll call a turkey and sweet potato veggie hash. It’s pretty damn well balanced in the macros (P/F/C), paleo, easy and damn tasty.

Ingredients:

– 5 oz ground turkey
– 1 medium sweet potato (I microwave mine for 5 minutes)
– 2 cups chopped veggies of your choice (I used Trader Joe’s Healthy 8 Chopped Veggies mix – carrots, broccoli, green & red cabbage, jicama, green bell pepper, radish and celery)
– 1 tsp chili powder
– 1/2 tsp oregano
– 3 tbs coconut oil (note: I didn’t measure this, but instead poured it on gradually until the mixture had a good consistency)
– Small handful of almond flour
– Salt & pepper to your liking

Mash that all together and pop it into a pan with coconut oil over Medium heat. You can make these into individual patties, but I found they stuck together a bit and eventually just smushed it all together, chopping it up as it got more cooked.

After this was done, I steamed some brussel sprouts with a little butter, salt and pepper, and was good to go. Damn delicious, and I have leftovers for tomorrow.

So while I’m bummed out at not getting those tasty turkey meatballs my friend made, I still ended up with something really good. I still want the meatballs, but I’m glad to have one more trick to add to my kitchen repetoire.

Turkey Sweet Potato Hash

Yum!

Turkey Sweet Potato Hash

Leave a Reply

